“My Writing Process” blog tour: Jessica Lee Anderson

by henandinkblots

Much appreciation to Laura Gehl for bringing me along on a ride of the writing process blog tour! The weather is hot here in Texas, and it is a perfect time to slow down and reflect with a glass of iced tea while my daughter naps.  If you haven’t already, check out Laura’s post on how she approaches writing and uses post-it notes to her advantage.  iced tea

Lots to love and kudos to the awesome Erzsi Deak for spreading the writing process love!  As you can see, PUMPKIN TIME is a huge at the Anderson household.

Jessica Lee Anderson's daughter enjoying PUMPKIN TIME

Jessica Lee Anderson’s daughter enjoying PUMPKIN TIME

 

 

What am I working on?  I have four educational emergent readers in the pipeline, though I’m not at liberty to disclose much information at this time. I love writing for a variety of age groups and I have stories I’m in the process of writing from the youngest of readers up to young adult.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?  Even with educational work-for-hire projects with very specific guidelines, each writer takes a personalized, creative approach, and I’d like to think I’m no exception. We all seem to have our own unique way of exploring ideas, visualizing stories, and getting our words down on the page.

Why do I write what I do?  I absolutely LOVE children’s literature! So much so that I studied Children’s Lit at Hollins University.

hollins

How does my writing process work?  I’m a write-at-home/stay-at-home mom to an almost one year old, so my writing process tends to be a bit chaotic these days. I keep a writing journal handy to log my ideas and to do some early drafting. When my daughter naps, I get on the computer and write for as long as I can. I’ll edit and write about an hour or so if possible once she goes to sleep in the evening.

 

My view while I write.  Can you spot my daughter napping (see the small screen)?

My view while I write. Can you spot my daughter napping (see the small screen)?

Tag!  They’re it!  Look for responses from these authors soon:

E. Kristin Anderson (no relation!) grew up in Westbrook, Maine and is a graduate of Connecticut College. She has a fancy diploma that says “B.A. in Classics,” which makes her sound smart but has not helped her get any jobs in Ancient Rome. Once upon a time she worked for The New Yorker magazine, but she soon packed her bags and moved to Texas. Currently living in Austin, Kristin is an online editor at Hunger Mountain a contributing editor at Found Poetry Review. Kristin is the co-editor of the DEAR TEEN ME anthology (Zest Books, 2012), based on the website of the same name. As a poet she has been published worldwide in many literary journals from the UK’s Fuselit, to Cordite in Australia to the US’ Post Road and the Cimarron Review. Recently she’s graced the pages of Asimov’s Science Fiction, and she has work forthcoming in teen magazine Cicada. Kristin is the author of two chapbooks of poetry: A GUIDE FOR THE PRACTICAL ABDUCTEE (Red Bird Chapbooks, 2014) and A JAB OF DEEP URGENCY (forthcoming, Finishing Line Press, 2014). She hand-wrote her first trunk book at sixteen. It was about the band Hanson and may or may not still be in a notebook at her parents’ house. She blogs at EKristinAnderson.com.

Stephanie Pellegrin wrote her first novel at the age of seven about a boy heart who falls in love with a girl heart, only to learn her “heart” is already taken. The school librarian posted it on the bulletin board and to this day Stephanie still wonders why none of her classmates asked for her autograph. When not writing books for kids (which contain no love triangles involving talking hearts) you can find her consuming copious amounts of coffee, watching House Hunters, or rereading Harry Potter for the millionth time. She lives in Austin, TX with her husband and dog and is currently seeking representation.